Augustina's Technological Blog

Technology, Perl, Linux, and a Woman's perspective on the FOSS community

Neverwinter Nights on Linux

with one comment

I was worried installing Neverwinter Nights would be a NIGHTMARE. Bioware has outdated instructions on their site, and the Linux forum has you taking all these steps to extract files here and there. I found a shell script someone had written on the Ubuntu forums along with super easy to follow instructions: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=113259

EDIT:

After running through that process, update your nwn sh file to use Ubuntu’s SDL libraries. This will prevent future incompatibilities with regards to the sound card. I found that particular information in this forum entry: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=61511.

My startup script looks like this now:

#!/bin/sh

# This script runs Neverwinter Nights from the current directory

export SDL_MOUSE_RELATIVE=0
export SDL_VIDEO_X11_DGAMOUSE=0

# If you do not wish to use the SDL library included in the package, remove
# ./lib from LD_LIBRARY_PATH
# note that I have modified the next line to use the ubuntu sdl library!
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=:./miles:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

./nwmain $@

EDIT 2:

I figured out how to have nwn run in its own window! Edit nwn.ini and set FullScreen=0, then add a new line for AllowWindowedMode=1. I’m not sure how to turn the screen, since it doesn’t seem to be registering when my mouse goes to either edge.

There’s another technique I’ve heard about, that might deal with some conflicts I think I’m having with the Gnome windowing. Stop X windows and then run nwn in xinit, supposedly it’s a lot faster since the graphics server isn’t having to paint a lot of windows in the background… but I haven’t tried it yet.

Written by missaugustina

March 4, 2007 at 7:03 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a very awesome game! I play it like 24/7 and never get bored of it! I actually think it is impossible to be bored. This game is just <3!

    Jesse Alfie

    February 2, 2010 at 7:51 pm


Leave a Reply

