Augustina's Technological Blog

Technology, Perl, Linux, and a Woman's perspective on the FOSS community

OpenOffice and Gstreamer

with one comment

At work, I’ve officially switched over to the Dell Optiplex as my main machine using OpenOffice for all my productivity needs. I wonder how long it will be before anyone notices I’m not using Windows on it? Ubuntu practically looks like XP from a distance. The Mac is now just used as a FileMaker client and for Remote Desktop.

I ran my monthly report and was able to open all the files, including my Excel templates in OpenOffice. Everything worked GREAT. The interface is a little different here and there but there are some UI things I actually like better in OpenOffice, like paste special and copying. OpenOffice has its own weird quirkiness but for anyone used to Excel on the Mac it won’t really matter.

I also got rhythmbox going. I had to download the Gstream libraries so I have the codecs I need. I used Automatix2 on my home computer but I thought I’d try just getting the packages myself – it was easy since they all showed up in add/remove programs. I downloaded Songbird but I couldn’t get it to play any of my music files. I also downloaded Song Converter to get them out of mp3 and into ogg but that didn’t work either. I don’t like mp3 because they make you pay for the right to encode it if you are writing an app with that feature. LAME! Pardon the bad Gnome pun….

Written by missaugustina

March 5, 2007 at 6:58 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot say I like this game, I think it is really normal. It is worth to game but will only keep you having fun for more than a four hours. I would recommed that you should try maplestory or Combat Arms for instance.

    Sam Heikki

    February 2, 2010 at 7:52 pm


Leave a Reply

