Augustina's Technological Blog

Technology, Perl, Linux, and a Woman's perspective on the FOSS community

Configuring Samba

leave a comment »

I got Samba working and my Mac OS X machine can see my Ubuntu workstation AND share files AND not everybody in the world can do the same. Ubuntu offers a System->Administration->Sharing interface but it’s still very much a work in progress. In fact I would recommend against using it because it didn’t seem to offer much in the way of customizing security options (like specifying samba users). The fact that it is in a sad state is obvious by the number of Samba problems posted in ubuntu forums.

I found this HOWTO:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605

The difference is I didn’t make a separate home partition and I didn’t use a Samba directory (although I set it up just in case I decided to use it). For my purposes I just need to share my documents.

I was able to get my Mac to connect! I was having issues connecting to my Mac from Ubuntu but fixed those by changing settings on the Mac. Previously I was using FTP which is a little buggy, but still good for higher directory access on the rare occasions when I need it.

Written by missaugustina

March 7, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Posted in Applications, Server, Ubuntu

Leave a Reply

