Augustina's Technological Blog

Technology, Perl, Linux, and a Woman's perspective on the FOSS community

LinuxFest Northwest 2007

leave a comment »

I went to <a href=”http://www.linuxfest.org”>linuxfest</a&gt; this past weekend and really had a great time.  I had volunteered to help out at the Ubuntu Lo-Co team table but they had it pretty well covered.  I think a Pacific Northwest Lo-Co is a bit broad since we’re too spread out to really meet.  Several people and groups in Seattle do use Ubuntu so I think it’s a shame there really isn’t a LUG or Seattle Ubuntu Lo-Co.  Being at the conference also, to me anyways, emphasized a need for a Linux Chix chapter in Seattle, and I might just have to revive it  (as if i don’t have enough on my plate already).

My favorite sessions were Copyright, XUL, One Laptop Per Child, and Asterisk.  A few big names had sponsored some events which made it fun – SecondLife, Google, and Pogo.  I’d really love to get involved with some game programming on OLPC, especially since they are using PyGame, but I have no idea where or how to get started, there wasn’t much info on their wiki.  XUL was neat as well as an alternative to Adobe’s Apollo/Air.  When I started playing around with the samples, however I realized it’s a mess.  Air is way easier to use out of the box and is better documented.  Hopefully Mozilla works to improve this because XUL could really be a decent Free alternative.

Written by missaugustina

May 2, 2007 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

